~ Itsy Beatsy Bea ~

project happier beapots

BDJ Fun In the Sun Challenge 2015: My Summer Bucket List

on June 3, 2015

Contest Mechanics:

It was April 25, 2015 when Belle de Jour Planner posted their summer promo flyer and it read: “Summer is the time for challenges… and of course, amazing prizes! More details to come so stay tuned and show us your excitement by using #BDJFunintheSunSubic Grand Seas Resort Serenitea Havaianas

Be sure not to fizzle when the summer starts to sizzle! We're making your summer hotter and more fun with #BDJFunintheSun! Watch out for details very soon! <3

Be sure not to fizzle when the summer starts to sizzle! We’re making your summer hotter and more fun with #BDJFunintheSun! Watch out for details very soon! ❤

Oooh another contest, that surely, got the #ContestEnthusiast in Beapots excited and even more so when I found out it’s another 20 Day Challenge that I soooo love. Finally on April 29, 2015, BDJ posted the Contest Mechanics and even the 20 Summer Bucket List we need to complete by May 20, 2015.

BDJ Fun in the Sun Contest Mechanics. Snap - Upload - Blog!

BDJ Fun in the Sun Contest Mechanics. Snap – Upload – Blog

What’s in store??

Sooo what’s in store, you might ask?? Why would a bella like me go thru so much effort in joining this contest?? Well other than maximizing my summer and the sense of accomplishment from completing this bucket list, I also get a chance of winning the much coveted Barkada Package from Subic Grand Seas Resort and other exciting prizes from Belle De Jour’s brand partners: Serenitea & Havaianas. Not bad, ehh??

1 Barkada Package coming right up c/o Subic Grand Seas Resort

1 Barkada Package coming right up c/o Subic Grand Seas Resort

Barkada Package Inclusions:

  •  Overnight stay at Subic Grand Seas Resort for 4
  •  Free entrance and cottage for 4 at Subic Halfmoon Beach resort
  •  Dinner for 4 with Live Band at Sam’s Pizza Family Restaurant
  •  In-room massage for 4 at Subic Grand Seas Resort
  •  Brunch for 4 at Crab Loco

** Subject to room availability. Reservation must be done at least a week in advance. Voucher can be used until November 30, 2015 except for blackout dates **

The 20 Summer Photo Challenge:

Here are the 20 Summer Photo Challenges for #BDJFunintheSun! Most of the challenges are fairly easy, but truth be told… I’ve almost forgone this contest. I was worried that I won’t be able to complete the challenge within the campaign period. You see, all my Sundays for the month of May were already booked for family events and friendly escapades, leaving me just about 3 Saturdays to complete all 20 challenges. Hahaha how am I supposed to do that?? But much to my delight, the BDJ Team confirmed that any challenge done on Summer 2015 will be a valid entry. Yey for BDJ!! That’ll surely cut down the bucket list for me.

BDJ Fun in the Sun - 20 Summer Challenges

BDJ Fun in the Sun – 20 Summer Challenges

And so my Summer Bucket adventure begun. Come join me in relieving the height of my Best Summer Ever and how I completed the this bucket list, squeezing a challenge or two in a day.

Fun in the Sun 1: Have a Movie Date Outdoors

Shift-y outdoor movie date night with the The Quirk and The Deed. ^_^

Shift-y outdoor movie date night with the The Quirk and The Deed. ^_^

Apr 29 2015 – Cinema One’s post showed up on my feed and it read: “Don’t miss the newest outdoor screening event on Labor day!” I’ve always wanted to watch a movie outdoors, more so after watching the movie Valentine’s Day (2010). I just couldn’t let this moment pass me by. Thus, my first ever Outdoor Movie/Kite Flying/Concert sesh in a uncharted territory that is Nuvali on Labor Day. This almost turned into a Selfie Movie Date Night but thankfully I was able to invite the Ransom Collective n’ UDD fanatic Russel (http://thequirkandthedeed.wordpress.com) to tag along. I had loads of fun watching “Shift” starring Yeng Constantive and Felix Roco. Super relate-much to the movie and reminded it me sooo much of dear friend Vanchan.

Fun in the Sun 2: Make S’more Over a Camp Fire

Screaming for more S'mores

Schmores S’mores we scream for more S’mores

May 05 2015 – Whew! I almost went home defeated with no s’mores in sight and much worst no s’mores in my tummy. Luckily, I saw a group of resourceful PUP-ian teens building a bonfire for the 2nd time around.. and before the fire burned out, I worked up the courage to approach the group and offered to make s’mores with my stash of marshmallows and graham crackers. To my relief, the group was more than happy to accept and welcomed us with open arms. Che2x and I made new friends, feasted on S’mores, stargazed under a Full Moon, and camped like a cast-away in a rather deserted island. Need I say more?? This definitely is one of my best birthdays to date. 

Fun in the Sun 3: Build a Sand Castle

My  cutesy Cake Castle

My cutesy Cake Castle

May 04, 2015 – It was my birthday but I didn’t have any cake at the beach and there’s no bakeshop in sight. And so a thought hit me… Hmm why not make a Cake inspired Sand Castle for myself instead?? It’s just too bad we didn’t have cake candles with us, else I would have lighted this mini Cake Castle, closed my eyes and made a wish (after blowing the candles of course) and watched the tides slowly devour my lil’ offering. ^_^

Fun in the Sun 4: Attend a Local “Fiesta”

Version 1.0:

Happy Birthday Sakyamuni Buddha! Amituofo... Namo Buddhaya 3x!

Happy Birthday Sakyamuni Buddha! Amituofo… Namo Buddhaya 3x!

May 13, 2015 – True to my Chinita Heritage, I chanced upon a Festivity in Lucky Chinatown Mall while I was waiting for the Pitch Perfect 2 movie to start.

Lookie! It’s Sakyamuni Buddha’s Birthday Celebration. Celebrating Buddha’s Birthday is not new to me as I used to study in Sakya a Buddhist school in the heart of Manila. We used to get extra brownie points whenever we burn an incense in Sing Wan Si (chinese temple) for Buddha’s Birthday. In the middle of the merryment I got to watch a group of female dancer, it kinda reminded me of my dancing years as a kiddo. I used to have a good sense of rhythm dancing chinese folklore dances and ballet but weirdly enough I lost it when I grew older and wiser. Hihihi ^_^

Version 2.0:

Happy Kiddo, Fiesta-ing Kapampangan Style. Burpy-much Beapots. :D

Happy Kiddo, Fiesta-ing Kapampangan Style. Burpy-much Beapots. 😀

May 15  2015 – Someone was asking the other day what was Beapots doing in Pampanga.. and I playfully responded: “what else, but to devour delectable Kapampangan. . . cooking of course! Lolz 😉

Fiesta in Pampanga equates to an overflow of mouthwatering delicious home cooking. I swear, I was thoroughly fed with finger-licking good kapampangan home cooking. And the Buko-Queso soft ice cream they served was heavenly. This is my dream ice cream combination, a perfect blend of refreshing coconut, salty cheese and a hint of creamy milky goodness. Nyum3x! ^_^

And guess what??? I found a rolling store selling Cotton Candies!!! Hihihi I couldn’t contain my happiness and giddiness then, I just had to take shamesless selfies with the pink cotton candies. I think manong vendor was entertained with my childish behavior that he couldn’t help but blurt out: “Sige lang ma’am, selfie lng kayo.” Hahaha but his encouragement backfired, Beapots was suddenly self-concious that every by-stander was staring at me. So I snapped my last photo, grabbed my cotton candies and rushed to my kumare’s house. Hihihi that was sooo embarassing but soo much fun too. I can’t wait to go back again next year. ^_^

Fun in the Sun 5: Enjoy a Picnic at the Park

Picnic  the Nuvali Open Grounds

Picnic at the Nuvali Open Grounds.. Yum3x!!! ^_^

May 01 2015 – Hunger pangs stroked while we we’re enjoying the free concert, patiently waiting for the movie start at the Open Air Cinema One. And so we bought foodie & drinks, laid my trusty malong on the grass… Voila!! Instant Picnic at the Open Fields. Hihihi there were even Bats flying above us and so I can’t help but think that there could be a “Bat Cave” (in reference of Batman) near us. ^_^

And did I mention that a cute-sy frog almost scared the life out of me when it decided to grace our make-shift picnic.. particularly grazing my legs. I almost jump on my friend’s lap from the fright, thank goodness I didn’t that would have been so embarrassing. Lolz

Fun in the Sun 6: Participate in a Fun Run

Version 1.0:

It's raining Colors in CM Manila Color Fun Run

It’s raining Colors in CM Manila Color Fun Run

April 19 2015 – II signed up my friends and myself for Watson’s Color Manila Fun Run but never got to run at the event itself due to my deep slumber. But it did felt as if I run the Fun Run of my lifetime trying to make it to the event. Sadly I arrived an hour or so late and the crew didn’t let me run the course anymore in fear that I won’t be able to finish the Fun Run in time. They did allow me join the booth activities and even gave me my color pack as well as the finisher dog tag. And so I resolved to re-do this one.

Version 2.0:

CM Black Light Color Fun Run - Night Edition.

CM Black Light Color Fun Run – Night Edition with Adaski and Che2x

May 16 2015 – As mentioned earlier, I wasn’t able to actually run at Watson’s and Color Manila’s Color Fun Run in SM MoA, and I decided to do over this challenge.

An do right after visiting Avilon Zoo with Vanchan, I met up with my dearest Adaski and traveled to Filinvest Alabang for Color Manila’s Black Light Color Fun Run. I had so much fun having colored and scented powders thrown unto my body and on my face. I was hoping they also had set up obstacles like they had from their previous run though but nevertheless it was fun walking on the most part of the fun run. And a death defying moment too just to claim our free Brother Ink pillows but I’m happy I got the black one rather then the tiny yellow pillow. ^_^

Thankfully, these colored powder are a lot easier to remove than the ones used at the Daytime Color Fun Run in SM MoA. These colors came right off with just 1 shower.

Fun in the Sun 7: Go to a Local Town Fair or “Perya”

Andie-girl and Beapots in Summering with Rustans

Andie-girl and Beapots in Summering with Rustans

March 25 2015 – Beapots scored 4 event passes to the Carnival/Perya themed Summering with Rustan’s event. I invited 3 of my friends but only one was able to join me. Nevertheless, we had sooo much fun connecting with the inner child in us while playing the perya-inspired games at each brand partner booths to win freebies and goodies. There were Balloon Darts, Ring Toss, Shoot the Hoop, Target Shooting, Name that Tune, Pin the Moustache, Spin the Wheel and of course our epic Twister game in Skirts/Dress. I’m sooo loving my sirena moment shot at Rayban’s Twister Game. I’m hopelessly terrible at perya games but I still wanna do this again soon…

And ohhh yeah, there were a lot of celebrity sighting at the event too. I even got a photo opportunity with the OPM artist Christian Bautista. Lucky!!! 🙂

Fun in the Sun 8: Fingerpaint a Masterpiece

My Bea van Gogh moment. #PaintressintheMaking #VanGoghWanneBe

My Bea van Gogh moment. #PaintressintheMaking #VanGoghWanneBe

May 18 2015 – This was the last challenge I’ve completed, and despite coming down with the flu, Beapots was determined to complete BDJ’s Fun in the Sun bucket list. I saw what the other bellas’ submitted for this challenge and was challenged to do better. I went on a different direction and painted something that’s totally not related to the topic “Summer Fun”. And after several attempts, about 10 times I think? At long last, I was able to paint this, something quite decent and serenely beautiful night sky which up to my artistic taste. Hihihi I guess I’m still inspired by the Vincent von Gogh’s Starry Night fingerpainting I did last year for the BDJ’s Art Maven Challenge.

Fun in the Sun 9: Eat the Best “Halo-Halo” in Town

Halo-Halo in Calatagan

Halo-Halo in Calatagan

May 05 2015 – I was craving for something cold and sweet after hours of Basking’ in Burot Beach, Caglatagan. I’m honestly am more of a Mais Con Yelo/Saba Con Yelo kind of Bella and dread eating an overly sweet and overly “ma-sahog” Halo-Halo. But surprisingly, I loved this Halo-Halo by De Elly’s Restaurant near the Awe-Inspiring Burot Beach. It had a generous serving of ube halaya, sago, langka, nata, kaong and refreshing strips of melon. Mmm sooo yummy and best of all no beans!! Yipee! Finally a perfect Halo-Halo for Beapots and super affordable too at P30. Now, I’m set on finding the perfect cup of Halo-Halo in my turf, Binondo.

Fun in the Sun 10: Capture the Most Beautiful Sunrise/Sunset

Lovely Sunrise in Cagbalete and Sunset in Calatagan

Lovely Sunrise in Cagbalete and Sunset in Calatagan

April 26 2015 – In the wee of the night and dusk, Mr. Sandy showered sweet dreams in every direction, as if no one will ever rouse from their deep slumber. Feeling lonely, I turned to the sun for companion and behold its majestic play, unravelling its beauty into the sky. And then when I look around, I found the spell has been broken, I no longer found myself alone amidst such great splendor.

Hahaha Beapots was feeling a bit poetic when she captured the Beautiful Sunrise in Cagbalete. I’m quite sad though that the photo didn’t do it much justice.

Fun in the Sun 11: Stargaze Under a Clear Sky

Gone Lunatic with the Beautiful Full Moon.. Awww aww awwoooo!!!

Gone Lunatic with the Beautiful Full Moon.. Awww aww awwoooo!!!

May 04 2015 – Stargazing at Ivory Beach in Calatagan, Batangas. Isn’t the full moon just lovely?? This could have easily been taken out from a scene of “Moon of Desire”. The shining full moon combined with the shimmering stars can drive anyone to do crazy things. I even saw some of the glampers go skinny dipping under the waning moon. I was tempted to do the same but never got to as I was afraid my friend would think I have gone mad as a hatter and the tide was still low at that time. Oh well maybe next time. ^_^

Fun in the Sun 12: Ride a Water Slide

Celebratory Water Slide, right after a Suicidal Cliff Jump.

Celebratory Water Slide, right after a Suicidal Cliff Jump.

March 08 2015 – My summer started early, all thanks to King2x’s (http://unfoldedbyxtal.blogspot.com/) invitation to go white water rafting in Magdalena Laguna.

Even a freak car accident wasn’t able to deter us from doing this. I can still remember it was 10mins before 4am when a private Tamaraw FX collided with the taxi we were riding. Thank God for blessing us our Nth life, we got out of the taxi practically unharmed, save from some minor scratches and bruising. After gauging that we didn’t sustain any permanent damage King2x and I decided to go thru as planned. Coz, 1) We were really looking forward for this and 2) we already paid the organizer so there’s no turning back.

Mar 08 was a momentous day for us. We survived a car accident, water-rafted thru a quite rocky river, braved a suicidal cliff jump and capped it off with a celebratory water slide at the end of our extreme adventure. Whew! I feel tired all over again just from re-telling the story and yet I’m so glad we went ahead with the original plan. Not only was I able to check off no.100 in my 2015 BDJ checklist, I also got an instant entry for this Fun in the Sun Challenge. Hooray!! For adventurous bellas like us!

Fun in the Sun 13: Blow Bubbles

Relieving a Childhood a Memory, One Bubble at a Time

Relieving a Childhood a Memory, One Bubble at a Time

May 17 2015 – I was planning to blow bubbles with my dearest pampkins Bengeo and Gabie-yo at the end of my youngest pampkin Baby Gio’s 1st Birthday Party. So I bought 2 big bubble wands for them and this cutie popsicle bubble wand for me.

The kiddos were excited when I gave them their bubble wands and even more so when Mimi told them we’re gonna take photos blowing bubbles together. But things didn’t go as planned as my Dinya (2nd Older Brother) was in a hurry to go home. So I ended up blowing bubbles alone while my Dinya was getting the car.

Fun in the Sun 14: Ride a Giant Ferris Wheel

Exhilarating Ferris Wheel Ride in Sky Ranch Pampanga

Exhilarating Ferris Wheel Ride in Sky Ranch Pampanga

May 15 2015 – This was one challenge I wasn’t too ecstatic to jump into and for a good reason too. Before going to Pampanga I asked someone to accompany me in riding that scary attraction which he was too eager to accept. Sadly, he had to cancel at the last minute.

And so I went to Sky Ranch Pampanga alone and when I got there, I was mesmerized by what was in front of me. I was reminded of my childhood days where my mom would take me to the fair and we would ride the carousel endlessly. And oh my, the colorful Pampanga Eye was breathtaking! *.* With memories rushing in, I quickly paid P150 and got my e-ticket. With ticket on hand, I hurried to the entrance, surprisingly eager to ride this enormous ferris wheel.

The ride attendant opened a coach for me and it felt like a “Cinderella Moment” getting on one of the aerial coaches.. But when I got settled in and the door closed on me, all the surreal feelings I have left me and reality came flooding in.

As my coach was ascending on a very slow pace, cold swept thru me and all I could hear was the whirring sound of the aircon. In my head this song started playing… “Heart beats fast, color and promises, how to be brave?? how to be brave2x??” It suddenly sunk in: “Oh yeah, Beapots.. you’re afraid of heights and enclosed spaces remember??” Hahaha and I couldn’t stop but think: “Too high Beapots, too high!! Abort!! Abort!! Abooort!!!” Thankfully, at the peak of the ride my eldest brother as if on cue called in reminding me of the arrangement for my Pampkin Gio’s Binyag. All my panic and fears were diverted and I became less tense. Hihihi thanks Ahia!! You’re a life saver! When I got off the phone, my coach was already descending. Whew! What an exhilarating ride, which I won’t be riding again anytime soon. 😉

Fun in the Sun 15: Wear a Summer Dress

Soaring High with my Fave Purple Summer Dressy

Soaring High with my Fave Purple Summer Dressy

May 10 2015 – My dear pampkin Brent-y’s turned 1 and I wore this befitting Purple Summer Dress to his Hot Air Balloon inspired 1st Birthday Party. Hihihi I can no longer remember when I bought the dress but this simply is one of my fave summer dresses. And a super great buy too at only P300.

Fun in the Sun 16: Wear a Flower Crown

Version 1.0:

ala Fairy Princess in the Secret Garden

ala Fairy Princess in the Secret Garden

May 10 2015 – Still at my pampkin Brent-y’s Hot Air Balloon inspired party when I spotted this cute-sy red make-shift flower crown at the photo booth. I got instantly excited to complete yet another challenge that I shamelessly asked the photo booth attendant if I could borrow it along with a colorful lei for a Fun Selfie Sesh at the Grand Terrace. I really felt like a Fairy Princess in a Secret Garden.

Version 2.0:

Beapots is a Purple Fairy Queenie

Beapots is a Purple Fairy Queenie

May 10 2015 – Still wearing my fave purple summery dress fresh from my pampkin Brent-y’s Birthday Party, I can’t help but pair it off with my purple lei turned flower crown for that instant Whimsical Purplish Memories Look. I forgot to let loose my hair or else I would have looked like a Fairy Queen in this photo sorta like Ina Magenta of Okay ka Fairy ko. Hihihi ^_^

Fun in the Sun 17: Go to the Zoo

Trekking Good Time in Avilon Zoo

Trekking in Avilon Zoo

May 16 2015- Beapots was only planning to go to Manila Zoo to check this off the list. But when a close friend found out I was doing this bucketlist, he suggested we go to Avilon Zoo instead.. which I happily agreed to by the way. 🙂 And so we bought our vouchers thru metrodeal and made our way to Rodriguez, Rizal. It took us about 3 hours to go around the Wildlife Park on foot and under a scorching sun.. but we didn’t pay much heed at as we had so much fun catching up. We didn’t need a tour guide at all as my dear friend is an up and coming vet, so we had someone to tell us neat stuffs while trekking.

A friendly reminder though of you plan to go here, load on liters of water.. their water inside the park is priced as gold at P35 for 500ml. ^_^

Thanks for the wonderful experience Vanchan.. Sorry for making you and your beau wait for me. Promise your 2 servings of hakaw and almond jelly is on me the next time you visit chinatown. 😉

Fun in the Sun 18: Nap on a Outdoor Hammock

Lazing Away in Flotsam and Jetsam Hostel's Colorful Bean Bags and Hammock

Lazing Away in Flotsam and Jetsam Hostel’s Colorful Bean Bags and Hammock

Mach 14 2015 – Lalaloopsies had sooo much fun lounging on Flotsam and Jetsam Hostel’s bean bags and hammocks. We didn’t get to go around La Union much because of these colorful yet enticing lounging/napping area…

We didn’t get to go around much but it’s okie, it was still the perfect relaxing summer get away for us. We still got to dine at El Union Cafe and at Surf Shack, got to visit Ma-Cho Temple also The Pingandan Ruins, got to swim at the beach and took loads and loads of photos/selfies and videos. We were sooo lucky to have chanced upon their local fiesta and had the time of our life what kiddies dance in celebration of their flourishing fishing industry. Not too shabby, for a spur of the moment trip if I may say so. 🙂

Fun in the Sun 19: Fly a Kite

Psychedelic Gliders afloat the Ebbing Sky

Psychedelic Gliders afloat the Ebbing Sky

May 01 2015 – So lucky to have scored a kite at Cinema One’s Outdoor Movie offering last Labor Day. I asked a total stranger if I could take a photo with his kite but ended up getting this rainbow kite for free.

I had so much fun trying to maneuver and fly the kite. And after several attempts the kite finally stayed airborne.. hehe can you believe it, this was my 1st time flying one?? Photo Credits to my friend Russel, collaged by yours truly, Beapots.

Fun in the Sun 20: Challenge a Friend to Badminton

Dino Tails Badminton with Mimi and Papa dearest

Dino Tails Badminton with Mimi and Papa dearest

May 17 2015 – It was 5 years ago when I last held a badminton. Thanks, to this challenge, I got to play this again. To complete this, I challenged, Mimi our housekeeper/friend who we also consider as family. But since papa was having difficulty taking a decent photo of us playing, I decided to challenge him as well. He was apprehensive at first but eventually he gave in to my request. And yes, we are wearing colorful dinotails fresh from my pampkin Gio’s Dino Party. ^_^

Isn’t my dad the coolest??? Hihihi ^_^

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~And that concludes My Summer Bucket List. It still feel surreal that I’ve completed it all. Thanks again to Belle de Jour Planner and their wonderful team together with their Brand Partners: Subic Grand Seas Resort, Serenitea and Havaianas for coming up with this inspiring Summer Challeges.

Win or lose, I already feel like a true winner making the most out of my summer. I had fun connecting with old and new found friends, bonding with family and relatives, re-creating my childhood memories, facing my fears and making new memories with a spirit of adventure on the side.

I hope this would sway you to have Fun in the Sun. Until my next post.  xoxo

Beaucoup D’amor,
Beapots ❤

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

=================================================================================================

You can follow Belle de Jour Planner and their brand partners at their respective social media accounts:

Belle De Jour Power Planner:
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/BelledeJourPlanner
Instagram: @bdjbuzz
Twitter: @bdjbuzz
Website: https://ilovebdj.com/

Subic Grand Seas Resorts:
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/subicgrandseas
Instagram: @subicgrandseas
Twitter: @subicgrandseas
Website: http://subicgrandseas.com/

Havaianas Philippines:
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/havaianasphilippines
Instagram: @havaianasphils
Twitter: @havaianas_PH
Website: http://ph-en.havaianas.com/

Serenitea:
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/iloveserenitea
Instagram: @iloveserenitea
Twitter: @iloveserenitea
Website: http://iloveserenitea.com/
=================================================================================================

Leave a Reply

